updpate

I am always on the lookout for inexpensive, natural beauty treatments.  I’ve experimented with a few options, which you can read about here: https://highlifeonthecheap.wordpress.com/category/inexpensive-and-unconventional-beauty-treatments/.   After some experiments, I have a few updates.

  • I still use Milk of Magnesia as an antiperspirant and deodorant.  It works, and it doesn’t have a strange scent.  The only thing is it can be a little messy, but I found a way to control the mess by putting the MoM in roll-on bottles, and I use the roll-on as an applicator.  If I need a little extra protection, then I use the MoM, and after it dries, I pat on some cornstarch.
  • I tried the natural DIY shampoo method.  I really, really wanted it to work.  In the long run, it just didn’t work with my hair type (I have baby-fine hair).  I’ve tried the baking soda/apple cider vinegar method in the past, but it really made my hair dry and frizzy, so I stopped that immediately.  I also tried the homemade shampoo with coconut milk and castile soap, but it weighed down my hair and made it look greasy.  Using the apple cider vinegar as the conditioning rinse worked for awhile, but then it made my hair really dry, so I had to stop that.  I even tried using castile soap diluted with distilled water to make a “baby shampoo” – it worked great as a body wash, but again, my hair was waxy.  I’ve accepted that buying natural shampoo and conditioner is an expense that I need to have.
  • One DIY hair cleaner that really worked is….raw egg yolk! Once a week, I mix a splash of lemon juice or champagne vinegar in one raw egg yolk and beat the ingredients with a fork.  Then, after rinsing my hair in cool water until it is sopping wet, I wash my hair with the egg and leave it sit for about 10-20 minutes. Then, I rinse with cool water.  My hair has soooo much body and volume after washing with an egg, and it’s soft.
  • I also tried the natural DIY recipe for antiperspirant/deodorant using coconut oil, cornstarch, and baking soda.  I really, really liked this one because it was very effective with preventing odor and perspiration….UNTIL…after about a month, my underarms were becoming discolored and inflammed!! I’m convinced that it was from how my body was reacting to the baking soda, so I immediately stopped using it.  Within a few days of discontinuing usage, my underarms were back to normal.  I am going to experiment with this a little bit.  I think that the next one that I try will involve coconut oil, arrowroot powder, and bentonine clay.

I’ve started experimenting with making natural scents, so I will be posting on that within the next few days.  My next experiment is going to be making natural cosmetics, so I will keep you posted on that.

