Tags

A compact mirror is something to have in my purse, but some of the fashionable compact mirrors are expensive. Designer mirrors are going as high as $50 USD, and the vintage mirrors are going for as high as $20. Since I have a jewelry business, I wanted something that was fashionable and showed some personality. I’ve decided to make my own compact mirror by “blinging” a cheap and boring mirror.

I picked up this mirror at Big Lots for $0.75.  As you can see, it has a basic black plastic cover.

Compact_2

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Since I’m a sucker for stones, I went through my “design kit” to get some materials.

from l to r: rhinestones, highlighter to draw pattern, toothpicks and card to help apply glue, E6000 glue with nozzle

from l to r: rhinestones, highlighter to draw pattern, toothpicks and card to help apply glue, E6000 glue with nozzle

I originally planned on creating a rhinestone swan on the compact to represent my business (cheap plug alert: Two Swans Shoppe – http://www.twoswansshoppe.com), but I decided to freestyle a pattern by laying it out on the compact.

SketchItOut

I got the glue and started gluing the rhinestones.  To make life a little easier, I put the glue on the card, and used the toothpick as an applicator to spread the glue evenly on the stone.

GluingStones

I stuck the rhinestones on the compact, and although the E6000 dries quickly, I let it sit overnight to give the glue a chance to cure.

Voila! A glam compact!

Voila! A glam compact!

I really like how it turned out.  It came to about $2.00 worth of materials (including the compact) and about 1/2 hour of labor.  It also gives me an option to make a pretty but inexpensive gift for someone.  Just sew up a small pouch from pretty fabric and ribbon to hold the compact, and Bob’s your uncle!

I decided to have a little fun with this, so while I was wearing my Turbie Twist to dry my hair, I channeled my inner little Edie with the mirror and the picture.

Well...Mother says that you're conservative.

Well…Mother says that you’re conservative.

BTW – that’s not really my house – that’s a picture from the Grey Gardens mansion.

