Tags

, , , ,

I have a cotton-cashmere sweater that’s perfect for the cold spells in Florida, which run between 60 – 70 degrees Fahrenheit.  It’s soft and warm without being oppressively hot.  However, I don’t like it as a sweater because it’s too boxy.

1 - OriginalSweater

I thought that this would work as an open cardigan because it would give me more flexibility.  I can belt it, leave it open, or clip it with a sweater clip.

I needed something for bias tape, and I found some grosgrain ribbon that I had left over from another project.

2 - Sweater and Ribbon

 

I measured out some ribbon for the bias tape.

3 - Measure Ribbon

To easily find the middle of the sweater, I folded it long ways and cut the front of the sweater for the opening.

4 - Cut in Half 1 5 - Cut in Half 2 6 - Cut in Half 3

I then finished the seam of the opening with the ribbon as the bias tape.

7 - Ribbon as Bias 8 - Sew Ribbon 9 - Fold Bias Over 10 - Sew Bias

Voila! A cardigan sweater!

11 - Final Result

 

 

